Durham County Cricket Club | Community engagement and sponsorships | Who we are | Liontrust Asset Management PLC
Durham CCC header new xl

Durham Country Cricket Club

It took more than 100 years for Durham to become a first-class county cricket club after being founded in 1882. Since moving from the Minor Counties league to first-class status in 1992, however, Durham has been making up for lost time, winning the County Championship three times and triumphing in two one-day competitions over the past 26 years.

Durham, which has one of the most picturesque cricket grounds in the country being located next to Lumley Castle, also has a fantastic track record of developing young cricketers from its Academy into first class and international players, including Paul Collingwood, Steve Harmison and Ben Stokes. It was this and Durham’s commitment to community engagement and social change in the north-east of England that led to Liontrust agreeing a partnership with the County Cricket Club in March 2018.

As well as sponsoring the T20 team, we are excited to be supporting the Family Zone at the Emirates Riverside ground and the development of women’s cricket as the Women’s Academy sponsor while also helping to enhance the club’s community engagement programme through the Durham County Cricket Club Foundation.

The Durham County Cricket Club Foundation is working with the Cricket Without Boundaries (CWB) and Girls Friendly Society (GFS) charities for the Let’s Be Women project in the north-east of England. Liontrust supports the use of cricket through this project as a tool to empower young women and girls to achieve their potential. 

This project has now been introduced into Kenya where it is focusing on gender equality, insufficient access to education and the promotion of positive health and wellbeing. It uses cricket as the way to engage, educate and empower women. 

Earlier this year, Foundation Manager Josie Pointon went to Kenya along with a team of CWB volunteers to implement the programme within the Massai community of Laikipia. The scale and impact of the programme are shown through the statistics and infographics shown across these two pages.

Back to top